Dokumentation
Serien
Imagefilm
Musik
Firma
Logo

THE CHEAPER THE BETTER

Bargain Hunters in Shopping Frenzy

Bargain sale at IKEA: the furniture store promotes the opening of its 46th branch in Germany with lots of special offers. The second biggest IKEA in the world is set to open in Berlin-Lichtenberg – 15,000 customers are expected. Michael M., the man in charge of customer service, has been working with the company for over 20 years.  He is the one to complain to and at the grand opening it doesn’t take long till his presence is required: the escalator stops working right after the doors were opened.

Thomas T. deals with special items and supplies owners of discount stores with inexpensive goods. His motto: the cheaper the better. He fights for every cent. The 42-year old makes a living selling remaining stock, cheap Chine made products and goods from bankruptcy sales. He is so persuasive that even dead articles sound like the latest must have items.

Grand opening in Pattensen: Jörg Marin sells remaining stock on his 17000 sq m area – it’s one of the biggest stores in Europe. His trademark: he sells shoes for only 99 cents. For the opening, he plans on selling two truck-loads of shoes. But searching for items and collecting them is stressful – knocking the salesman nearly out.

From toilet paper to furniture sales – the cash register keeps ringing when Stern TV Reportage watches customers hunt for a bargain.

Writer
Sven Hartung, Rieke Sprotte
Production management/ Editorial
Ute Becker (I & U TV)
Camera
Sebastian Seibert, Thomas Henkel, Christl Pullmann
Video editor
Klaus Helmold
Broadcasting station
RTL
TV format
Stern TV Report
Broadcast date
21.12.2010
Duration
45 min

Dokumentation
Serien
Imagefilm
Musik
Firma
Logo

BILLIG LOCKT IMMER!

Schnäppchenjäger im Kaufrausch

Schnäppchenalarm bei Ikea: Mit zahlreichen Sonderangeboten wirbt die schwedische Möbelhauskette bei der Neueröffnung ihrer 46. Filiale in Deutschland. In Berlin-Lichtenberg eröffnet das weltweit zweitgrößte Ikea-Haus. 15.000 Kunden werden an diesem Tag hier erwartet. Seit 20 Jahren arbeitet Michael M. schon für den Möbelkonzern. Er ist der Kundenservice-Chef. Am Tag der Eröffnung ist er zur Stelle, wenn es brennt. Lange muss er auf seinen Einsatz nicht warten: kurz nachdem sich die Türen für die Kunden öffnen, fällt die Rolltreppe aus.

Hauptsache günstig: Das ist das Motto des Sonderpostengroßhändlers Thomas T. Der 42-jährige ist selbstständiger Handelsvertreter und beliefert die Besitzer von Billigläden mit preiswerter Ware. Feilschen gehört zu seinem täglichen Geschäft. Er kämpft um jeden Cent und verramscht fast alles: Lagerrestbestände, Billigprodukte aus China sowie Ware aus Insolvenzen. Da werden selbst Ladenhüter dank seiner Überredekunst zu Kassenschlagern.

Neueröffnung in Pattensen: Hier eröffnet Unternehmer Jörg Marin heute auf 17.000 m² einen der größten Restpostenmärkte Europas. Marins Markenzeichen sind Schuhe für 99 Cent, zwei LKW-Ladungen will er heute loswerden. Doch Sammeln und Suchen gehört bei der Schnäppchenjagd dazu. Und das hinterlässt Spuren.

Vom Klopapier- bis zum Schrankwand-Schnäppchen: Stern TV Reportage ist dabei, wenn die Kunden die Läden stürmen und bei den Unternehmen die Kassen klingeln.

Autor
Sven Hartung, Rieke Sprotte
Produktion / Redaktion
Ute Becker (I & U TV)
Kamera
Sebastian Seibert, Thomas Henkel, Christl Pullmann
Schnitt
Klaus Helmold
Sender
RTL
Format
Stern TV Reportage
Sendetermin
21.12.2010
Länge
45 Min